Vorontsov palace in Alupka belonged to a prominent Russian official and public figure Count Vorontsov. Occupying the position of the governor of the Novorossiya Governate, the Count made a lot of efforts for the development of the Crimea. Vorontsov Palace was built as his summer residence for twenty years - from 1828 to 1848.
The Vorontsov Palace was built in a neo-Moorish style of gray-green stone - diabase. The skillful work of stone masters is still surprising, no less than the original idea of the English architect E. Blore. Never visiting the construction site, he designed the palace ensemble ideally blended into the surrounding mountain and park landscape. The ensemble includes a park and palace buildings: central, dining, guest, library and household. Famous figures of lions appeared on the palace terrace in summer 1848. Till 1917 the palace consistently belonged to three generations of the Vorontsovs family. In 1921 a museum was opened in the palace. In February 1945 during the meeting of the leaders of the three countries of the anti-Hitler coalition, the so-called "big three": Stalin, Roosevelt and Churchill, the residence of Winston Churchill was housed here. In 1990 the Vorontsov palace and the entire palace territory was given the status of the «Alupka Palace-Park Complex». Today it is one of the most beautiful places in the Crimea. Visitors can see the interiors of the ceremonial rooms, the Vorontsovs' personal belongings and paintings.