9 photos

The Trinity Lavra of St. Sergius as a Symbol of Russian Orthodoxy (Troitse–Sergiyeva Lavra)

The main attraction of Sergiyev Posad is the Trinity Lavra of St. Sergius, one of the largest and oldest monasteries in Russia. It is known that the monk Bartholomew settled at the site of the present monastery, on the Makovets Hill in 1337. After taking the monastic vows, he assumed the name of Sergius. Thus started the history of the Lavra. The flow of pilgrims here has not been running low for many centuries, and the founder monk is better known as St. Sergius of Radonezh.
The first wooden church in the Trinity Lavra of St. Sergius was consecrated in 1340. Wooden cells were developed nearby. A stone church in the place of the wooden one was laid only in 1422. The Lavra has always been in the center of political events in Russia: from here Peter the Great headed towards the throne to Moscow, the monastery walls withstood during the months-long siege of the Polish-Lithuanian invaders in the late 16th century. Also, the Russian Tsar Boris Godunov was buried here.Today the architectural complex of the Lavra numbering more than 50 temples, churches, towers and other buildings from different eras is under the patronage of UNESCO. The oldest cathedral of the monastery, the Trinity Cathedral, built in the 15th century is especially noteworthy. Its unique iconostasis is prepared by Andrei Rublev and Daniil Chyorny. And Rublev created the icon of the Trinity just for it. It is impossible to take no notice of the Assumption Cathedral: it is the largest temple in the ensemble of the Lavra built in the 16th century. Since the XVII century it is the burial vault of Moscow's metropolitans. Despite a great number of people in the Trinity Lavra of St. Sergius, here always prevails a stunning atmosphere of an ancient prayed-in place. If you have time, don’t miss to look in the cafe in the territory of the Lavra and taste there kvass, bread and much more that is produced in the monastery.
Krasnogorskaya pl 131
141306, Sergiev Posad
Official website
Opening Hours
Now - closed
Mon-Sun 09:00-17:00