In the XVI-XVII centuries the current Sokolniki Park was a site where tsars loved to arrange falconry, and the grove that was here was called Sokolnichya. At first Ivan the Terrible, and then - Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich went hunting here. The first public park in these parts was opened in 1878, and in 1896 picturesque ponds appeared there. The park layout has been preserved since the 1840s. It was then that the first alleys and clearings were made.
Today Sokolniki Park, which is actually located in the forest, contains 13 ponds with cascades, numerous fountains, attractions, entertainment and educational centers. It also houses a Museum of Calligraphy, a "Panda Park", a Skate Park and a rock-climbing wall. "A Ticket to the USSR" Museum opened in the Pesochnaya Alley of the park in spring of 2016, where exhibits of the Soviet era, like badges, stickers, clothes, furniture and household items are displayed.