Ramon Palace, also known as Princess Oldenburg's Palace, is a unique red-brick neo-Gothic mansion for the Russian province. Its history is connected with Emperor Alexander II. It was he who in 1879 gave an estate in the village of Ramon, which is located 50 kilometers north of Voronezh, to his niece Eugenia (Princess of Oldenburg within marriage), as a wedding gift. The family of Eugenia belonged to the German family of the Dukes of Holstein-Gottorp, who were a relative of not only the Romanovs, but also the Royal Houses of Sweden, Denmark and Greece.
A red-brick manor house in the old English style with a covered veranda, wrought iron gate, towers and chimes appeared in Ramon in 1886. The cabinet, the living room with a billiard room on the first floor and living rooms - on the second were finished the next year. In the estate, Princess Eugenia also opened a sugar plant and a "Steam factory of sweets and chocolate" outfitted with state-of-the-art equipment. In 1908 the Oldenburg family had to return the estate to the state due to debts, and in 1917 they emigrated to France. After the revolution, the mansion was given to children: it housed a library and a music school. The estate was not damaged during World War II. It is believed that the Germans did not destroy the property of their compatriots. In 2013, the fireplaces, the roof and the facade of the mansion were restored and a park was made. Many details of the interior currently need to be seriously restored, however, it does not prevent visitors from diving during the excursions into the mystical atmosphere of the palace, where many feel the presence of something inexplicable. Local residents warn tourists that their photo and video equipment may often fail to work when being inside the palace, and they tell stories about the workers who refused to live in the palace during the reconstruction because of the terrible sounds that they heard at nights.