Boris and Gleb Monastery is surrounded by a halo of mystery: it is still unknown when and by whom it was founded. In the annals it has been mentioned since the XV century, but there is an opinion, that has no proof, that the monastery in Dmitrov appeared by the initiative of the founder of Moscow Yuri Dolgoruky in the middle of the 12th century.
The Boris and Gleb Monastery owes its name to the cathedral built in the 16th century in the name of the holy princes Boris and Gleb. In the middle of the XVII century the monastery was the residence of the Metropolitan of Novgorod, and then its status changed. The monastery was either becoming independent or attributed to one of the Moscow monasteries. There was a spiritual school on its territory, and till the end of the XIX century a manuscript chronicle was conducted.The first half of the twentieth century was marked by abrupt changes for the monastery. A labor co-operative appeared on its base in 1917, and in the 1920s it became a female monastery instead of the male one. In the 1930s its buildings were occupied by the management of the construction of the Moskva-Volga Canal, and during the Great Patriotic War the monastery was turned into a hospital. Today the former monastery is a monument of the cultural heritage. Fragments of the relics of Boris and Gleb constitute the main relics of the monastery along with the fragment of the cross of the Holy Sepulcher and the relics of the holy apostles and several other saints. Here one can also see a cathedral, two chapels, a church and the Holy Gates. There is a monument to the Saints Boris and Gleb on the territory of the monastery. It is unique because there are two equestrian statues on one pedestal.