RestExpert uses cookie technology and writes technical information from your browser to server logs: IP address and visited pages. This information will not allow us to identify you, but it can help us improve the site.
The Therapeutic or Kurortny Park in Yessentuki is one of the main city attractions. It was laid out on the outskirts of the city in a swampy area, where springs spouted accumulating into a small river Kislusha. This place was called a «horse spring», as the Cossacks carried their horses here to water. At the beginning of the XIX century, St. Petersburg doctors took water samples here and recognized its exceptional healing properties. Total of 20 springs were found, which were given serial numbers. The construction of the Kurortny Park started in 1847 by order of Prince Vorontsov, the namestnik (vicegerent) of Caucasus.
The picturesque Tsvetnik Park was built in Pyatigorsk in 1829. The architects ennobled the place of natural accumulation of mineral water in such a way. Here limes, chestnuts, maples and poplars are planted. A one-story Lermontov Gallery near the entrance to the park gives the impression of a fairy-tale palace. It was built, however, much later — in 1901. But the blue pavilion made of metal and glass with gothic steeples and stained glass windows immediately became a symbol of the city.
In the minds of many residents of Russia Pyatigorsk is associated with the name of the Russian poet Mikhail Lermontov. He visited Pyatigorsk many times in his childhood and died in a duel at Mashuk Mountain. In the city they preserved Lermontov House, where the poet spent the last months of his life. This modest wooden house with plastered walls and a reed roof was built in 1836 by Captain Chilayev. In summer the house was rented. In 1841 Lieutenant Lermontov settled in it.
The construction of the Kurortny (Resort) Park in Kislovodsk began in 1823 under General A.P. Ermolov. Here, exotic trees and plants were brought and walking paths were laid out. The Narzan Gallery, a stylish construction in the Gothic style, appeared there after a while. Here, under the canopy one could take healing water and rest. The park was expanded and rebuilt several times, and over time it turned into the largest and most beautiful man-made park not only in Russia, but throughout Europe.
Gagarin Boulevard in Pyatigorsk rises to the Proval Lake from the colonnade. Here one can see an elegant brick building of the Pirogov Baths built in 1914. Its walls are decorated with ceramic panels depicting ancient Roman baths. The bust of the outstanding Russian surgeon Pirogov was installed under the front staircase in 1960.
Naryn-Kala, the ancient fortress of Russia, was built on the shore of the Caspian Sea fifteen thousand years ago. This is the landmark of Derbent inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List. The Citadel guarded the strategically important Derbent passage between the Caspian Sea and the Caucasus Mountains and served as the most important outpost on one of the routes of the Silk Road.
There is a picturesque Mount Dubrovka on the edge of Yessentuki, where St. George Convent is located. In 1998, construction of a church in the name of St. George the Victorious started here, and in 2003 it was decided to open a convent. Two chapels, a baptismal bath in honor of Epiphany, a residential building for nuns and a shelter for girls «Sofia» appeared in the territory of the monastery over time.
Prielbrusye National Park is a relatively young nature reserve, which has already won recognition among sportsmen and nature lovers. The most picturesque midpart of the Caucasus Mountain Range is in its territory. It is located three hours drive from Kislovodsk. The altitude variation here ranges from 1500 to 5500 meters above sea level, and alpinists gladly use hiking in the national park to adapt themselves before climbing Elbrus. However, the Caucasus Mountain Range is also very popular with tourists. Here, recreation facilities and mountaineering camps operate, as well as 16 hiking trails of various degrees of complexity are laid. The most beautiful of them are the trail to the Narzan Valley and the «Glade» trail.
Once the Kurortny Boulevard in Kislovodsk was called the Topolinaya (Poplar) Alley. The old name is justified even now: a necklace from old poplars adorns a pedestrian street in summer and gives a perfect shadow. This is the main promenade of the city: blooming, cheerful, with a lot of cafes and restaurants, hotels and amusement facilities.
Lenin Square is the largest in Pyatigorsk. The area is sloping because of the proximity to Mashuk Mountain. Going here for a walk one needs to be ready for climbing the stairs with many steps. A musical fountain is beating in the lower part of the square in front of the city administration. The alley of honorable citizens of Pyatigorsk is behind it.
Mashuk Mountain in Pyatigorsk rises to 993 meters above the sea level. One can climb at its top in just three minutes by the Cable Car, which has been operating since 1971. In addition to the two stations, there are no supports all the way. Two closed cabins for 20 people always move at the same time to meet each other on a steel cable.
The Castle of Love and Deceit is a rock formation in the vicinity of Kislovodsk. The mountain cliff, resembling a candle in shape, rises above the mountain stream. This romantic and sad place is adored by loving couples who come here for secluded dates.