The building of the Town Hall in the Renaissance style was built in Hof in 1563. At that time, its ground floor housed a bakery and craft shops, the city council held meetings on the first floor, where there was also a prison, and the third floor hosted wedding ceremonies and official events. Since then, the town hall was rebuilt more than once. So now it is a real mix of architectural styles.
Visitors can get into the Town Hall and also climb the 152 steps to the observation deck offering an excellent view of the city and surrounding areas, as well as the nearby tower of the Protestant St. Michael’s Church. The first church on this site already existed in 1230. But the current interior dates to the XIX century. So does the church’s organ by Heidenreich, which is recognized one of the finest in Bavaria. Its sound can be heard on Saturdays in the morning.