For almost four centuries Tower Schrott has been the tallest building of the old town. It was built in the Renaissance style in 1611-1614 and was originally a watchtower, but changed its intended use over time. In the XIX century people began to make buckshot in the walls of the tower, which gave it its present name (Schrott in German means scrap). This led to that Schrott got five more floors. In 1988-1990 the tower underwent a major overhaul. For the past quarter of a century its bell tower has been the main viewing platform for those wishing to explore the town center from a height.