Since the Middle Ages Nuremberg masters were famous for their toys. The toy Museum (Spielzeugmuseum) invites to learn more about this. Since 1971, he settled in the historic center of Nuremberg, in the Sebald side. The collection of the couple Lydia and Paul Bayer, who collected it in 20-ies of the XX century, is the basis of the museum. More than 4 million visitors from around the world have visited the museum during its existence.
Although toys are traditionally considered an attribute of a young age, Spielzeugmuseum will also interest adults. In its halls you can find forgotten childhood friends, as well as trace the history of toys from the XIV century to the present day.
On the first floor, visitors are welcomed by a collection of wooden toys. The second is occupied by unique dolls and luxury dollhouses. The world's largest collection of toys of the famous German company E.P. Lehmann is also on this floor. The third floor is occupied by metal toys, mainly technical: cars, steam engines, model railways. Finally, the fourth floor is occupied by toys of our time (1945).
The museum has a large playroom where children can play with conventional toys. It is a great option in case of bad weather.