Tilly Reduit is an architecturally iconic building in Ingolstadt. It dominates over all the fortifications that once encircled the city. Reduit was built in 1850, designed by the famous architect Leo von Klenze. It protects the river crossing to the old town.
Inside the Reduit is the Museum of the First World War with an interesting exposition. The untended area around the fortifications was a headache for the local municipality for a long time, but eventually the beautiful Glacis park was created here. It stretches along the fortifications and encircles the old city with green ring.
In 1992 the waste land on the other side of the Danube was transformed into a wonderful Klenze Park (Klenzepark) for the Bavarian flower show (Landesgartenschau). It was named in honor of Leo von Klenze who built Tilly Reduit and a lot of other prominent buildings in the city. It is in this park that the most significant holidays in Ingolstadt are held all year round: these holidays include summer concerts under the auspices of the "Audi” car maker (Audi Sommerkonzerte), avant-garde Dance Festival (Tanzfestival) and the annual Art Fair (Kunstmesse).