The main square of Hanau is always full of life. Traditional seasonal fairs are held here: it is a meeting place and a place to be photographed for memory. One of its attractions is the New Town Hall in the baroque style with an attic and a clock tower (Das Neustädter Rathaus). Its construction was completed in 1733. 22 years later a carillon -a mechanical musical instrument with 18 bells-was installed on the town hall. The bells ring four times a day, at 10am, noon, 4:00pm and 6:00pm.
Right at the entrance to the New Town Hall there is a monument to natives of Hannau, the world-famous storytellers, the Grimm Brothers. The bronze figure of William and Jacob with a height of 6.5m appeared on the Market Square in 1896. Today, there is a 600km route called the German Fairy Tale Route (Deutsche Märchenstraße) in this region. It begins in Hanau and ends in Bremen and is dedicated to the works of the great storytellers.
Opposite the monument to the Grimm Brothers in Hanau’s Market Square there is another unique landmark, or rather what was left of it. It is the ruins of the Walloon-Dutch Church (Wallonisch-Niederländische Kirche) of the early XVII century. Its construction was initiated by the Protestant refugees, who took shelter in Germany after persecution in 1597. The grand building is a church in another church, symbolizing the unity of the religious settlers. Today this place is a kind of architectural and historical monument.