After Dankwarderode Castle and Wolfenbüttel, the dukes transferred their residence to a palace built in the XVIII century. But in 1830, a big fire destroyed it. The palace was rebuilt and the dukes lived in it until 1918. The building was badly damaged during the Second World War, and in 1960 it was decided to demolish it. It was restored by 2007 with preserved original finishing parts.
The main attraction of the palace is Europe’s largest Quadriga created in the XIX century. After the restoration, the platform with the Quadriga turned into a viewing point offering stunning views of the city. By the way, the patroness of the city - goddess Brunonia manages the horses. Inside is an exhibition dedicated to the history of the Welf dynasty, the city library and the archive.