It’s difficult to imagine Munich without the English Garden, just as it is difficult to imagine New York without the Central Park and London without Hyde Park. Attractions are in the southern part of the garden, while in the north there are places for a picnic. Four beer restaurants offer food and drink. The manmade wave of full-flowing Eisbach attracts surfers, the place called Schönfeldwiese chosen by naturists.
One of the first public parks was designed by Frederick Ludwig von Sckell at the end of the XVIII century. The monument to the landscape gardener is erected by the lake Kleinhesseloher See. Due to the naturalness of the park was named in English, not in French. The southern part of the park is more ancient. Here are the Chinese Tower (Chinesicher Turm), Rotunda Monopteros, the Rumfordhaus building that is interesting in terms of architecture. The Japanese teahouse (Japanisches Teehaus) was built before the Munich Olympics in 1972. Head of the Urasenke tea school in Kyoto gave it to the city as a gift. Tea ceremonies are held in the house.
The northern part of the park is a real forest in the city. The amphitheater here is lost in thicket. In the summer it hosts open-air performances. Tivoli-Kraftwerk HPP is on Eisbach, which has been providing the citizens with electricity since 1897. Pedestrians and cyclists use St. Emmeram wooden bridge (St. Emmeram Brücke) to get into the park from the same-name district.
Each of the four beerhouses, located in the English Garden, offers a certain brand of beer. The Chinese Tower guests taste the Hofbräu. It is also ofered in Aumeister Beer Garden. Visitors can drink Paulaner on Kleinhesseloher See lake and Spaten – in Hirschau.